The Desk Dash

My mother is amazing. I should always start off my stories like that I’m sure. She found these desks on the side of the road, for FREEEE. We had just moved into the big house and so there for I could not turn down anything for free. They are 2 old, school desks…the kind where you could very cooly slide into them and stare at your crush from across the room kind. I honestly did not like them. I had no idea where to put them, and I just didn’t know how I could make them look good. Mom If you are reading this..it get’s better, don’t worry. For the past year they have been sitting up in our bonus room..just sitting there. Kind of like in school….you see them and kind of get anxiety. To give them SOME credit..Henley uses them all the time. When I decide it is an appropriate time to paint-I hate that activity- I let her use those desks…. 🙂

We were kid free tonight which is very very rare. I had brought home some of the kid”s old stuff and again..we felt the need to completely RE-ARRANGE a room. The bonus room has been kind of “that” room in our house. We put a free couch, a free TV in there..threw in the kids toys and called it good. We assumed that now that we had a huge play room they would play up there. Well they DON’T want to play up there and IT was not the best idea we ever thought of. It doesn’t “feel ” like a playroom Brent said. It doesn’t make them want to be up here…Brent said. FINE. We spent the last 4 hours re-arranging this room to make it more “Kid play worthy.” The desks were honestly something I was like OK let’s get rid of them. BUTTTTT guess what people??????????? I wore off on my husband. He had the brilliant idea of re-making them into something pretty, cool, decorative. Something he knew his wife would A. Like to do B. Like to have in her house. C. Write about.

We took both of the chairs down into the garage and his big mind started turning. First we spray painted them..some spray paint we had already had. Liam’s chair is Red, Navy Blue. Hen’s chair is baby pink and gold. Next, the kids got these art easels from Christmas and the mass paper roll didn’t fit into the top of them..so they haven’t been able to use the paper roll. He thought it would be so great if some how we could fit the paper roll on the side of the desk so they could pull it across the desk top to color on endlessly. He ended up finding some spare brackets in thew garage..drilled them into the bottom of the desk..found an old metal bar to use for the paper roll and installed it. Now the kid’s can sit at their desks..up in the PLAY ROOM, and draw, paint, color on the paper right on the new desks. I am in love. With the desks and my husband!!! So here is the desks un-veiling–see mom I told you it would turn out good! Thank your son-in -law for this!

desk 1 This is before anything.

desk 2

Then this is after

desk 6


desk 5

Haven’t put the paper roll on Henley’s yet..

dsk 3

One thought on “The Desk Dash

Leave a comment